Culture.

IMG_0575.jpg

Friday 17th of February – Melbourne Cricket Ground

IMG_0582.jpg

I have identity issues or I sometimes feel like I don’t belong anywhere. When I am in Australia I feel a lot more Sri Lankan and when I am in Sri Lanka I feel Australian, there is no middle ground.

I am definitely proud of being Sri Lankan although I don’t express it that much. I don’t get a chance to show how I feel about my country that often but on Friday I did.

I went to the Sri Lanka vs. Australia cricket match at Melbourne Cricket Ground, it was truly amazing. Nothing beats the feeling of belongingness when you are amongst like people. You don’t have to know any of them or talk to them but you feel at home.

The atmosphere is brilliant, people holding up flags, shouting with joy at every point received and expressing their excitement of just being there, whether we win or lose.

There is a sense of community and love, an ultimate goal that brings us altogether. This feeling is a rare one in todays world where people are lonely, lack community and social support.

I enjoyed every minute of the game. I felt proud to be who I am and a part of the Sri Lankan community and culture. I didn’t feel lost, I felt at peace, joyful and at home.

We also won!!

5 things I am grateful for:

  1. Being able to watch the Cricket Live!
  2. Naps
  3. Volunteer work – if I had money to survive, I would volunteer everyday.
  4. Nature
  5. Family

Till Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

