Death.

Death is the only thing in life that is certain, right? 

Reading Mark Manson’s book, ‘The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F***’ gave me a different perspective. As a buddhist we are always told the life is ultimately a suffering, one problem is replaced by another problem as we go through life. Some problems better than other ones. Additionally, in buddhism they say to keep death in mind because everything is impermanent, knowing and accepting this simple fact allows us to be more present and  live life to the fullest.

Sometimes I have the mindset of ‘we are all going to die anyway, why does any of this matter’, I like that Mark Manson clarified that death doesn’t take life’s meaning away, it gives life meaning. Knowing that one day it will all come to an end allows us to live a better life whether you consciously register that or not.

Another thing he shed light on is that we can figure out what our goals are and be honest with ourselves when we decide ‘What we are willing to suffer for?’ This gave me a moment of clarity and shifted my mindset to the fact that problems will never go away, they are a part of life. Some problems we choose, others we don’t but if I actively decide which problems are worth my time, they aren’t a problem anymore. They are more challenges and a journey to whatever it is that I want to achieve.

This book has enlightened me and has also forced a way of honest thinking. From now on I will choose my problems when I can, make sure they have a purpose and are worth my time, taking full responsibility of them.

5 things I am grateful for today:

  1. Running – I have decided to start running with a friend a few times a week. I am by no means a runner, I puff out in 30 seconds however I am excited to see improvment!
  2. Books – my days have been bare and lonely but books are keeping me occupied, and I am loving every second of their company.
  3. My friends – It is important to take the time to think of those around you who love and support you along the way.
  4. Uni – I am very much excited to start university again, it has been a long holiday.
  5. Nature – Running outside is beautiful.

Till Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

