On becoming a Social Worker.

IMG_7891.jpg

Brighton Beach Melbourne Australia

I wanted to be an optometrist. Or at least I thought I wanted to be. When we are younger, we don’t really know what a profession involves, you respond to the question ‘What do you want to be when you grow up?’ with whatever seems to interest you at the time.

In year 7 I went on an excursion to the University of New South Wales, to the optic science section and something there really stuck with me and from then on till I got into a Bachelor of Psychology I wanted to be an optometrist.

Becoming an optometrist is hard work, between year 7 and year 12, I moved between 3 different schools and 2 different countries and states. I think in between all that, I lost the real drive for it. I didn’t work that hard, I don’t think I wanted it as much as I thought I did.

When I started university, I knew nothing about psychology, looking back I don’t even know why I applied but for whatever reason I did and it brought me to where I am now. I liked studying about the brain, I didn’t like research. At the end of my degree I didn’t have the passion to do honours. I wanted to be in mental health but psychology was not for me. I then did a post graduate diploma in counselling to pass some time and learn some more while working full time. By the end of that, I still felt like I wasn’t ready for the real world or real problems, so I decided to do a Masters in Social Work. Again, I had no idea what it really involved, just that it meant doing something good in this world and that appealed to me.

Currently, I am waiting for university to start so I can complete my last year and I know that this is the right profession for me. I know I will be good at it and I couldn’t be happier that I am doing what I want to do, not everyone gets that chance.

What really strikes me is that I am wanting to learn more and more about being a social worker through other means, by reading, watching documentaries and listening to podcasts, not just through lectures and textbooks. This is how I know that I am developing a passion & that I am genuinely interested. Knowing that I am growing warms my heart. 

I am thankful for all the uncertainty that brought me here and I am glad that my original plan never worked out. I know that this is where I am supposed to be. I also know that my options are endless and this is just a step to more growth and learning, who knows what I’ll be doing in 10 years? I can’t wait to find out. 

Things I have learnt:

  1. Failing a few subjects in university really did not make a difference to my life. At the time I was upset and worried but looking back it only made me a better person, it gain me a sense of reality – things aren’t always going to be great but it’s okay.
  2. Not having a plan is okay, better even. Going with the flow, making the most of all opportunities and learning to let go of expectations helps you grow as a person.
  3. The career you choose when you are 20 will probably not be the career you end up with when you are 50. Change will happen, embrace it.

5 things I was grateful for yesterday:

  1. Sushi – sushi is the best.
  2. Lying in bed doing nothing all day – I did read and watch a few shows, it was lazy and relaxing.
  3. Candles – you make everything smell so wonderful.
  4. Nature
  5. Being alive.
Leave a Reply

