Sisters.

 

Sisters.jpg

Distance makes the heart grow fonder.

This statement is true for me. I feel like it took me 23 years to figure out who my truest best friends are. This whole time they were right in front of me.

I have fond childhood memories of my sisters and I have some ugly ones too, not too ugly but general sibling rivalry. As we got older I think it was each others unique but annoying habits that bothered us the most, all three of us vastly different from one another although raised almost identically by our parents.

I always shared my friendship troubles through my schooling life with my older sister, I come home and I vent. My sister was in her final years of school experiencing a lot of pressure and expectations and here I was rambling about my life. I don’t think I knew much about her then but I know that she listened to everything I said. I don’t remember her responses but the listening she did made all the difference to my life. Looking back I understand the importance of such a small act and I appreciate that now. 

I don’t have many memories of my younger sister, as at the time I was young too. I know that she was stubborn and she still is but she has evolved dramatically in the last few years, I couldn’t be more proud of her. She isn’t very affectionate, none of us are, at least not in a ‘i love you’, lets hug each other all the time kind of way, but we talk, we fight and no matter what we got, we always shared it into 3.

My parents were always against junk food (thank you for feeding us fresh fruits and vegetables), so when we did get our hands on something sweet, we divide it into 3. I remember once cutting a lollipop into 3, an impossible task but we all got almost evenly cut pieces, I think the kitchen floor got some too. One time there was a bit of coca cola left after a party, I took a calculator and measuring cup out, and distributing 3 equal quantities for us to enjoy.

I know laying it out like that sounds like we were deprived children but we never were. We all learnt a very important quality that is present in all of us despite our differences and that is to always share. On a deeper level, to always think of others, be selfless and know that there is always enough to go around.

My sisters are lifelong best friends, who will always be there for me no matter what. As my dad always says ‘you have to look out for one another, we won’t always be there’, I think he has taught us well on how to. 

5 things I am grateful for:

  1. My sisters.
  2. Education – I am so thankful to be educated, sadly there are so many in this modern world who are still illetrate which results in so many disadvantages.
  3. Afternoon naps.
  4. Nature – Today is a lovely blue skied day with a cool breeze.
  5. Colouring in book trend.

Till Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

