What inspires us.

IMG_9730.jpg

24th of December 2016 Royal National Park Sydney, Australia

There are times in my life where I feel down, uninspired and not alive. I have experienced this feeling so many times. I know a few days before it arrives like when you feel a seasonal cold coming along and you start to intake everything with vitamin C in hopes of driving the cold away.

In times like this I go hunting for inspiration, so that I can feel enthusiastic and whole again. Inspiration can come in any form for me but not everything works, I have to trial and error. When its the right form of inspiration, I am instantly cured of my ‘blues‘ and I move on completely forgetting how I felt a minute ago.

I find inspiration in:

  1. Books: Memoirs, self-help/ buddhism, historical or fantasy.
  2. Documentaries or movies based on true stories.
  3. Classical music.
  4. Podcasts.
  5. Talking to someone who inspires me.
  6. Going for a long walk, breathing and appreciating nature.

All these things make me feel great on a daily basis, I think we should all incorporate something that inspires us into our life so that we feel alive every single day. I find that if I do at least one of these things daily, I don’t feel the ‘blues‘ as often. I am relaxed and mostly stress free. Find the things in your life that make you feel alive, treasure & practice them.

5 things I am grateful for today:

  1. Sleeping in – Everyone loves a good sleep in.
  2. My legs – they allow me to go for long walks, enjoy nature and get some vitamin D.
  3. Free time – The end of last year was a busy and stressful time for me, I am truly appreciating the holidays and using them well while they last.
  4. Nature – I love lying on fresh green grass and staring up at the blue sky.
  5. Movies – I watched Hacksaw Ridge and Hidden Figures, both brilliant movies that show us how people changed the lives of others as well as history for the better, truly inspirational.

Till tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

