Change.

img_8270

12th of November 2016 (Apple iPhone 6) – I went to visit one of Australia’s beautiful coastal landscapes. Loch and Gorge is one of the many sights you can see along the Great Ocean Road in Victoria.

2017 came before I had the chance to accept its coming. That’s the thing with time, it waits for no one. Last year was a year of experiences for me, great adventures however if I don’t sit down and really think, I can’t remember the good times, only the bad. Why is that?

I like to think I am a realist,  a person that knows that life isn’t perfect and it never will be but with a positive mindset and attitude even the worst of situations can be seen in a new light. Despite this, looking back, 2016 seems muggy.

17 days into 2017, many hurdles have been thrown at me. Some I was mentally prepared for and others that have caught me off guard. I have decided that I don’t want 2017 to be muggy or unclear when I look back. I know it is going to be a difficult year regarding different aspects of my life but I also know that I am the only thing standing in the way of it being great. My choices and intentions will determine how I feel about this year. In preparation of creating a great year I have decided to list 5 things I am grateful for everyday right here. To be appreciative of all I have regardless of the downfalls and to make small changes.

Maya Angelou said

‘If you don’t like something change it, if you can’t change it, change your attitude’.

I hope to stick by those words.

Five things I am grateful for today:

  1. Silence and space – an empty silent house where I feel free physically and mentally.
  2. Books – I never used to like reading as a child but as an adult I truly appreciate the wisdom they can bring.
  3. Martin Cooper: Inventor of mobile phones in 1983 – how he has transformed this world, I am grateful that I can be in contact with the people who matter in my life even though we are apart.
  4. Nature – I think nature will always be on this list.
  5. My upbringing – no parent is perfect but I know my parents did their best and I am thankful to be who I am today because of them.

Till tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

