An experience, a thought & a friend.

There are 3 things I want to talk about:

1. TedxCanberra Experience
2. Meaning of life
3. A friend of mine.

Firstly, yesterday I went to TedxCanberra. It is an independently organised TED event. I had an amazing time there and I highly recommend it, if the city or town you live is holding a TED event. The beautiful thing about it is, it is an event that sheds away the expectations of society of having to be this amazing, intelligent, famous and rich person to make some sort of difference. It reminds you that everyone is special and one idea can go a long way if you are passionate and are willing to do. These people are normal people in your community who decided one day to do something and make a difference in something they value. It makes you realise that anything is possible and you don’t need to be extremely intelligent, or rich or famous. You being completely ordinary makes you extraordinary. Each person has different opinions, thoughts and ideas. Give those ideas a voice and who knows where it will take you. One day I hope my thoughts, passions and ideas take me to a TED stage so I can inspire the rest of you to be ordinarily great.

Secondly, there are a lot of opinions, views and uncertainty about what the meaning of life is. No one knows the answer to that question and no one will ever know. The meaning of life for me is leaving this world better than when I was brought into it regardless of how I do it, whether its something big or small. As long as its something. We are all blinded by this idea that for something to be great it has to be big, big things are always better but it isn’t like that at all. Small things result in big changes and small things matter. There will always be people trying to do the big things which is absolutely fabulous but I think I’m made for things much smaller and I don’t care as long as its a difference and something good. Someone will appreciate it and thats all that matters. Life is simple, humans make it complicated. My aim is to simplify it.

Thirdly, I have a friend who has been going through a really difficult time for the past few years and has secluded herself from the world. Over the years it has gotten worse. We try being there for her and we are there for her but you can’t help a person who doesn’t want to be helped. It is so difficult and it weighs you down. During the time she’s secluded herself, the rest of us have had several jobs, had different relationship/sexual experiences and will be graduating in a month.

My biggest worry is she will get left behind, it will hit her one day and affect her really badly. I don’t know what other people do when they are in a situation like this. Only time will tell because time knows all.

Leave a Reply

